VetClick
Menu Menu
Login

VetClick

/ Staff
Tuesday, 22nd September 2020 | 5,065 veterinary jobs online | 289 people actively seeking work | 5,046 practices registered

Receptionists

Post a vacancy
Add your CV
Set up a jobs email

Looking For A Career Change

Posted: Monday the 17th August, 2020. 13h57

Login to view contact details

Login to your account to access the name and contact details of candidates.

Sign up as a recruiter if you haven't set up an account yet.

Overview: I have recently decided that it is time to follow a long-held dream of mine:
I'm hoping to retrain as a veterinary nurse, ideally through an apprenticeship, so I can continue to bring in some kind of income for my family, but until my youngest starts school and until I have some experience under my belt, I'm aware that the apprenticeship is a few years down the line for me.
I'm therefore looking to gain experience in the veterinary field, in whatever capacity is available to me so I gain knowledge of how veterinary clinics run. A receptionist job seems an ideal position to gain an oversight of everything that goes on, whilst also building up good experience in the sector and utilising skills I already possess from various past roles.
I have worked as a receptionist for TISL, a communications technology company. I answered phones, set up meetings, dealt with correspondence and greeted clients. I have also worked in direct customer serving facing roles in a boutique baby clothes shop and in a Coughlans bakery.
I spent over a year working for Alliance and Leicester (now Santander) in their call centre, where I regularly spoke with customers who were either in a great deal of distress or who were incredibly irate, as financial problems often cause people to react very strongly, in the same way I imagine the emotions of people with loved animals who are ill or even possibly dying are. I became adept at building rapport and dealing with the issues sensitively and competently, whilst remaining professional and meeting targets. Having also been on the other side of the desk with a loved furry family member in pain and having to make the decision to end his suffering, I would like to think I would be able to help any clients with a great deal of compassion and empathy.
I have also worked several admin jobs, including one at Eurostar, where they liked me enough to offer me a permanent role in their customer service call centre, taking bookings and dealing with any complaints or queries.
I have worked in a coaching role, where I aided social work practitioners on improving their database recording errors. This involved engaging and educating people who were not interested in doing so as they felt it detracted from their job of helping people (which I feel I did so successfully as when I took over in my area, one of the teams had over 2000 recording errors, which by the time I left a year later, had reduced to under 200). I also worked directly with many people from different backgrounds and so had to ensure that my coaching approach was fully inclusive (for example, by adapting my coaching to work with a practitioner who was deaf).
I have very strong Microsoft Office skills, especially in Excel, Word, powerpoint and Outlook, using all of these programmes professionally on a daily basis, as well as having worked with many types and sizes of database.
I undertook volunteer work at an RSPCA cattery (cleaning pens, including deep cleaning after a resident left or during outbreaks of illness) and socialising the animals and when at the Ministry of Justice I project managed a research project into cruelty towards animals often escalating to violence towards people and whether there should be an animal cruelty register.
I am very adept at time management and being self-directed and autonomous in my working. When I worked at the Ministry of Justice, I was a shared resource between two teams and so became incredibly proficient at managing my workloads, working flexibly and managing expectations.
I currently work 18 hours a week and so would be looking for similar hours (up to 22 is negotiable in order to balance childcare).
I hope you can see I would be a passionate and hardworking member of your team and would gain a lot of personal satisfaction from working somewhere both so interesting and fulfilling.
Many thanks for your time and consideration,
Thyra Hawkes

Gender: Female
Current location: United Kingdom
Qualifications: Psychology 2:1 BSc (hons)
Qualified at: University of Kent
Country qualified: United Kingdom
RCVS registered: No
Been qualified for: 13 years. I graduated in 2007
Type of practice I have experience in: None. Looking for a change of career
Sole charge experience: No
Accommodation needed: No
Drivers licence: Yes
Availability: 30 days notice
Special Interests: Looking to gain any experience in the animal or veterinary field so that in a few years, once my children have both started school, I can look at undertaking a veterinary nurse apprenticeship.
Computer skills: Microsoft office suite (word/excel/outlook etc) MAny statistics and visualisation tools such as SAS, SQL, SPSS, Business Objects, ArcMap etc
Desired location: Ideally hoping for Bracknell/Wokingham area or around the Surrey/Hampshire/Berkshire border

This page has been viewed 165 times.