VetClick
Menu Menu
Login

VetClick

/ Staff
Sunday, 13th June 2021 | 7,991 veterinary jobs online | 92 people actively seeking work | 5,117 practices registered

Trainees / Volunteers / Non-qualified

Post a vacancy
Add your CV
Set up a jobs email

Trainee Veterinary Nurse

Posted: Tuesday the 23rd February, 2021. 11h13

Login to view contact details

Login to your account to access the name and contact details of candidates.

Sign up as a recruiter if you haven't set up an account yet.

Overview: I have just recently graduated from Central Bedfordshire college, whereby I have successfully completed an access course in Science, specifically focusing on Biochemistry. I have achieved high results from my studies. I gained Distinctions across Biology, 2 Distinctions and 1 Merit in Chemistry and a Distinction for my independent research project in which I focused on how Animal Therapy benefits mental health patients.

To ensure I can achieve a place in university I am required to complete 70 hours of work within a clinical environment, before I can be considered for a veterinary nurse undergraduate course. I am happy to complete this over a 10 day period, or I am willing to take on a volunteer or graduate position with hours that suit your practice, until I have achieved the required amount.


I am keen to pursue my career working and helping animals and owners, due to my love of animals and fulfilment of being in this environment.

I have looked after people’s dogs and cats for the last 15 years, and am familiar with their behaviours and temperaments and have enjoyed being able to provide care, in my own home for free due to my sincere love of animals. From the age of 14 I regularly looked after a Staff x Pitbull for 8 years every weekend and when the owners were abroad. He was a strong and powerful dog and I learned to build trust, control and manage his behaviour by the bond we shared. Growing up I also regularly walked 2 other Staffordshire bull terriers as well as looked after various cats and dogs for friends and family members.

In 2015, a friend of a friend (I didn’t know the owners) required someone to look after their dog whilst they relocated from Spain back to England. I fostered this dog for 3 months and gave him a temporary home whilst his owners found a suitable home for their dog to return back to them.

In June 2015 I decided to start my own dog walking and pet sitting business, Toonch’s Pooches, and have looked after several dogs and cats for various friends and family and new customers. I regularly walk different breeds and I am confident with working with dogs of all sizes, from a Chihuahua to the largest I worked with a Spanish Mastin and Japanese Akita. I am also confident working with dangerous breeds, and temperamental behaviours including Staffordshire bull terriers and Pitbull cross breeds.

I have also assisted other families re-homing pets, and helped a family rehome 6 kittens in 2016 to suitable homes. I also work with the business Tailster and will also provide work for their clients as and when required.

Up until the Pandemic I was also an active volunteer at the RSCPA, where I assisted in the catteries and walked and groomed the dogs.

As you will see from my CV, my previous work experience has generally been in a customer focused environment and I have exceptional customer service skills and always aim for the customers to be 100 % satisfied with the service they receive.

I am very keen to expand my skills working with animals and a placement would give me the foundations to grow in this field, so I am very keen to pursue it further and willing to learn and work hard to do so.

Gender: Female
Current location: United Kingdom
Qualifications: Dipolma access to science
Qualified at: Central beds colleege
Country qualified: United Kingdom
RCVS registered: No
Been qualified for: 1 years. I graduated in 2020
Type of practice I have experience in: Rscpa volunteer
Sole charge experience: No
Accommodation needed: No
Drivers licence: Yes
Availability: 1 week notice
Special Interests: Animal care
Computer skills: Office excel word databases
Desired location: Bucks beds herts oxon

This page has been viewed 260 times.