Menu Menu


/ News
Thursday, 27th January 2022 | 9,111 veterinary jobs online | 46 people actively seeking work | 5,170 practices registered

Veterinary Industry News

Send us your news

New Directors Appointed To The Animal Health And Welfare Board For England

3 months ago

29th October, 2021 13h25


Biosecurity Minister Lord Benyon has appointed six non-executive directors to the Animal Health and Welfare Board for England (AHWBE).

The appointments of Peter Laurie, Emma Slawinski, Gwyn Jones, James Russell, John Reed and Charles Sercombe will take effect from 1 November 2021 for 3 years and will support the new Chair Jonathan Statham.

All appointments to AHWBE are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. The appointments comply with the Ministerial Governance Code on Public Appointments.

Commenting on the appointments, Biosecurity Minister Lord Benyon said:

“These appointments will bring a wealth of farming, veterinary and animal welfare experience to the vital work of the Animal Health and Welfare Board for England.                                                                                    

“The UK is a world leader in animal health, welfare and biosecurity and I look forward to working closely with the Board to further build our knowledge, research and resilience in this important area.”


Peter Laurie

Emma Slawinski

Gwyn Jones

James Russell

John Reed

Charles Sercombe

About the Animal Health and Welfare Board for England:

More from DEFRA